Women in French

Log in

Upcoming events

    • 27 Oct 2021
    • 12:00 PM
    • 3 Nov 2021
    • Online
    Part I: Charline Effah, Transcendances, on October 27 at 12 p.m. EST

    Part II: Fabienne Kanor, Corps à Coeuron November 3 at 12 p.m. EST


    More information about the program, including links to register, can be found below.

    Francophone Crossings: Women in Transatlantic Conversations, Part I – France-Atlanta – Together Towards Innovation

    Francophone Crossings brings together the unique and creative voices of Fabienne Kanor (Martinique) and Charline Effah (Gabon) for a two-part program.

    france-atlanta.org

    Francophone Crossings: Women in Transatlantic Conversations, Part II – France-Atlanta – Together Towards Innovation

    Francophone Crossings brings together the unique and creative voices of Fabienne Kanor (Martinique) and Charline Effah (Gabon) for a two-part program.

    france-atlanta.org

    • 27 Oct 2021
    • 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
    • Zoom
    You are invited to the launch of From Menstruation to the Menopause: The Female Fertility Cycle in Contemporary Women's Writing in French (2021) with Liverpool University Press. The launch is co-hosted by the Department of Languages and Cultures and the Centre for Health Humanities at the University of Reading

    The launch will take place via Zoom on Wednesday 27th October, 4-5pm. It will include an introductory talk by Prof. Julia Waters, a talk by the author, and a Q and A session.

    To register, sign up on the Eventbrite page so you can receive the zoom link:

    To find out more about the book, see the LUP website: http://dev-liverpoolup.cloudpublish.co.uk/books/id/54498/
    • 28 Oct 2021
    • 7:00 PM

    You are invited to the next instalment in our series of works-in-progress seminars on the theme of “Confinement, Connectivity and Care”. The goal of this series is to bring together researchers working on women, gender and feminism in French and Francophone contexts and provide a platform for sharing new work and ideas, receiving collegial feedback, and establishing new collaborations.

    Our next seminar will be held on Thursday 28 October (evening in the U.S.) and Friday 29 October (morning in Australia and New Zealand), as follows:

    • Thursday 28 October (evening U.S.)
      • Denver, Col. (U.S.): 5:00 p.m.
      • Philadelphia, PS (U.S.): 7:00 p.m.
      • Eastern Time (U.S.): 7:00 p.m.
      • Central Time (U.S.): 6:00 p.m.
      • Pacific Time (U.S.): 4:00 p.m. 
      • Mountain Time (U.S.): 5:00 p.m.
    • Friday 29th October (morning Aust.)
      • Melbourne/Canberra/Sydney (Aust.): 10:00 a.m.
      • Adelaide (Aust.):  9:30 a.m.
      • Perth (Aust.):  7:00 a.m.
      • Brisbane (Aust.): 9:00 a.m.
      • Auckland (N.Z.): 12 noon 
      • London (U.K.): midnight
      • Paris (Fr): 1:00 a.m.

    For the event, we will hear from Frédérique Chévillot (University of Delaware) and Céline Brossillon (Ursinus College), who will discuss their research for approximately 10 minutes, followed by a Q and A session. Before the close of the event, we will hear about Chris Hogarth’s (University of South Australia) current book project.

    Click here to register for the event.

    • 11 Nov 2021
    • 9:00 AM
    • 12 Nov 2021
    • 5:30 PM

    You are invited to attend the virtual conference entitled "Representation and reception of French and Francophone women writers in the media."

    Co-hosted by the University of Maryland and CNRS, this bilingual conference will take place via Zoom on November 11 and 12, 2022, from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM Eastern Standard Time. With guest speakers Marie-Ève Thérenty (RIRRA21 et Université Montpellier 3) and Martine Delvaux (Université du Québec à Montréal).

    Registration is now open at the following link. Official program to follow.

    • 12 May 2022
    • 14 May 2022

    Iowa State University aura l’honneur d’accueillir la dixième édition de la Conférence Internationale Women in French, axée autour des marges et des marginalités.

    En raison de l'impact budgétaire et financier généré par la crise sanitaire mondiale, la conférence WIF 2022 sera virtuelle.

    Conférences plénières confirmées :

    - Anne Donadey (San Diego State University)
    - Claire Legendre (Université de Montréal)

    Projet « One Book, One WIF » :

    En partenariat avec nos collègues de WIF UK, Women In French participe au projet « One Book, One WIF ». Établi en 2017 par Stephanie Schechner, ce programme promeut l’étude d’auteures françaises ou francophones peu connues. L’auteure retenue pour la conférence de 2022 est Claire Legendre et son roman Bermudes (2020). En raison du report de la conférence de 2020, Kuessipan (2011) de l’auteure autochtone québécoise Naomi Fontaine fera également l’objet d’un panel « One Book, One WIF ». Nous encourageons la soumission de propositions de communications ou de panels sur ces écrivaines et leurs œuvres.

    Informations supplémentaires à venir.

    Iowa State University is honored to host the 10th International Women in French Conference, focusing on margins and marginalities.

    Due to the budgetary and financial challenges generated by the global pandemic, the WIF 2022 conference will be online.

    Confirmed Plenary Presentations:

    - Anne Donadey (San Diego State University)
    - Claire Legendre (Université de Montréal)

    “One Book, One WIF” Initiative:

    In partnership with our colleagues from WIF UK, Women in French is continuing the “One Book, One WIF” initiative. Established in 2017 by Stephanie Schechner, this project aims to promote critical interest in lesser-known French and francophone women writers. The book selected for the 2022 WIF conference is Claire Legendre’s novel Bermudes (2020). Due to the postponement of the WIF 2020 conference, a “One Book, One WIF” panel will also be devoted to Indigenous Quebecois author Naomi Fontaine and her text Kuessipan (2011). Proposals for papers or panels on these authors and their work are encouraged.

    More information will follow.


Questions?
membership@WomenInFrench.org

Follow WIF

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software